What’s this all about?

Posted on February 12, 2011

3


Where to begin?  I suppose I’ll start with the name.  I’ve been using the term to describe myself for awhile now.  None of the traditional labels- omnivorous, vegetarian, pescetarian, vegan, etc.- really seemed to describe my approach to food and eating.  I googled the term last night before creating this blog and it turns out other people have been using it too.  Here is how Urban Dictionary defines it:

Ethitarianism, sometimes referred to as the political science diet, is a diet based on the principles of consumer responsibility and morality. The diet encourages personal relationships with your food and/or those who produce, supply, and sell it. Ethitarianism is more than a diet; it is a lifestyle choice.
The main principles of Ethitarianism are humane treatment of animals, responsible and ethical management of the natural environment and its ecosystems, fairness to workers (both foreign and domestic), and the personal responsibility of the consumer.

I’d say that’s pretty accurate.  I do consume animal products (Not right now, I’m eating vegan at the moment.) but I do my best to make sure that the animals were treated humanely.  Small, local, certified organic farms are my first choice.  Of course, for a variety of reasons that’s not always possible.  I just try to choose the best available option.
i
That’s why I’m such a big fan of gardening.  You can produce your own food exactly the way you want.  Plus you don’t have to grow anything you don’t like!  February may seem a little early (In Michigan anyway.) to be thinking about gardening but I’ve been putting together the spring edition of the newsletter at work and it’s on my mind.  I’m brainstorming seeds and planters and soil and imagining how tasty this years tomatoes will be.  But that’s a post for another day.  Probably several other days in fact.  I really like tomatoes.
Posted in: Uncategorized