She’s making a list.

Posted on February 22, 2011

5


Every year I grow the same things: Tomatoes, peas and/or beans, chives, basil, salad greens and sunflowers.  But I also like to experiment with new varieties and plants when I have the space.  (My garden lives in buckets on a pretty small balcony.)  Last year I tried cantaloupes and purple green beans.   The cantaloupes were small, probably as a result of their restricted root space, but delicious.  The purple beans are beautiful, tasty, and turn green when you cook them.  I’ll probably try both again in the future.

i

I think this year I’m going to experiment with purple tomatoes.  Maybe someday I’ll have a completely purple garden: purple cabbage, purple cauliflower, purple beans, purple tomatoes, purple basil and whatever else I can find.  In the mean time I’ve got to fit everything into a pretty small space…  I’m going to add three large containers this year, as well as a small flower bed near my front door.  But even counting these additions I probably have less than twenty square feet to work with.  That means paring down my dream garden into a garden I actually have room for.

i

Tomatoes.  (At least two varieties.)  Check.  Green beans.  Check.  Basil. Check.  The basics will have their home.  But I also want to include chives, spinach, salad greens, sugar snap peas, cantaloupe, zucchini, sunflowers, marigolds, calendula, mint, oregano, eggplant, kale, collards, arugula, sweet corn, summer squash, asparagus and a dozen other things I’ll come across while cruising the seed racks in the next few months.  Some things are easy to rule out; there’s just no way I’m growing sweet corn on my balcony and asparagus just isn’t going to grow in a pot, no matter where you put it.  That still leaves me with way more choices than I have real estate.  What’s a girl to do?

i

Really- what’s a girl to do?  I’m open to suggestions.  How do you decide what makes the yearly cut and what doesn’t?  What are your go-to favorites and favorite experiments?  Maybe they’ll make it into my garden this year!

 

 

i

 

