Inventory Time

Posted on March 3, 2011

4


Yesterday was a momentous occasion at the Co-op.  Well, for me anyway.  We received this year’s Seed Rack.  The arrival of the Seed Rack is the first real indication that yes, Spring will come again to Michigan.  This year the seeds came from Nature’s Crossroads– a regional producer of organic and heirloom seeds.  I chose three varieties, Tyee Spinach, Cherokee Purple Tomatoes, and Sweet Genovese Basil.  I would have purchased more, but I wasn’t sure what I had at home in my seed basket.  (It turns out I already had a packet of basil seeds, but I love basil, so it’s cool.)  I do want more seeds, even if I’m not sure yet where I’ll have the room to plant them.  That means it’s time for yet another almost Spring ritual, Inventory.

There are three things that need to be covered by the yearly Inventory: Seeds, pots, and soil.  Here’s a quick run-down of what I found.

Seeds

Herbs: Agrimony, Angelica, Anise- 2 packets, Basil- 2 packets, Catnip- 2 packets, Chives, Echinacea, Elecampane, Fennel, Lemon Balm, Lime Basil, Lobelia, Mint, Mullein, Musk Mallow, Rue, Sage- 2 packets, Tansy, Thyme, Valerian, Vervain, Wild Lettuce, Wood Betony, Wormwood.  (Note: Many of these seeds came in an “herb starter pack” I bought a few years back and I have no idea what to do with them.  Others, like basil, chives, and catnip are favorites that always make the garden list.)

Greens: Mesclun mix, Salad Mix, Tyee Spinach

Flowers: Marigolds, Nasturtiums, Crimson Sunflowers (saved over the last two years)

Everything else: Apple (from my Grandmother’s tree, though who knows what kind of tree I’d get from them), Asparagus, Brandywine Tomato, Cantaloupe (saved from last year), Cascadia Peas, Cherokee Purple Tomato, Cosmonaut Volkov Tomato (2 packets and saved from last year), Hot Thai Peppers.

Pots

2-gallon self-watering containers- 2 (and enough buckets to make 1 more), 5-gallon self-watering containers- 6 (and enough buckets to make 2 more), 1 large pot, 1 medium pot, so many small terra-cotta pots I don’t bother counting them. 

Soil

None.  (I usually use Happy Frog brand.)

Overall things are looking pretty good for this year.  I will need to pick up at least two bags of potting soil, a few peat pellets, and I’d like to get enough buckets to have 9 5-gallon self-watering containers.  I’m doing pretty well on seeds, though I may give the Seed Rack another once over now that I know what I’m working with.  The hardest part is going to be deciding which seeds make the cut, and what size/how many containers does each plant deserve?  Spoiler: All three types of tomatoes will find a spot this year.

The appearance of the Seed Rack is the event that sets off my yearly garden planning, what indicator of Spring gets you into gardening mode?  Do you save seeds, or start fresh every year?  Do you have your own version of inventory?  Or do you just wing it?  And if you don’t have a garden of your own, what’s stopping you?  I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

Posted in: Gardening