Starting to Get Started

Posted on March 31, 2011

3


I don’t know about you, but I start most of my plants from seed.  There are plenty of places to get starter plants, but very few places to get Organic Starters.  I do sometimes pick these up at the Co-op, but you have more varieties to choose from when working with seed.  This is especially true if you are looking for something unique, like purple tomatoes.

If you choose to start your plants from seed you have to plan ahead.  Most plants (herbs and certain types of greens excepted) can be started indoors about 6-8 weeks before they can be planted out of doors.  Since the last frost in this area has generally come by the end of May, I want to have my plants started by the middle of April.  That means I have a little less than three weeks to get things rolling.

For the last five years or so I have been using one of these, buying new pellets when I run out and reusing the greenhouse enclosure.  This year I was out of pellets.  I had a little extra time on Monday night so I stopped by Home Depot on my way home from work to see what they had.  Enter the ecofriendly seed starting kit from Burpee.  Now, I won’t be getting rid of my old plastic greenhouse, goodness knows I’ll find a use for it eventually, but who can resist the lure of a completely biodegradable sprouting system?  Even the tray is compostable! This year’s seeds will be germinating in style.

While I was sorely tempted by all the gardening gadgetry I managed to resist most of it, sticking to the starter materials that prompted my search.  I did splurge on one other little goodie though.  Being an apartment dweller gardening space is always at a premium.  I use containers, colonize the balcony, and expand whenever I find an extra inch.  That’s why I decided to pick up a trellis net.  I’m going to tie it to the railing of my balcony and let the plant grow up it.  It seems like a really good way to keep them trained in one direction and increase my lounging space all in one go!

Do you have any starting tips and tricks or space saving advice?  If you do I’d love to hear it!

