Something Green

Posted on April 7, 2011

1


I’ve been sick for about a week now, feeling bad, accomplishing nothing.  After today I’m hoping things are on the upswing.  I’m still coughing and sniffling and feeling tired, but less coughing and sniffling and tired than yesterday.  Plus things have started to sprout.  That’s right, it has arrived.  The long awaited First Cactus.

See it?  Right there in the middle?  It’s so adorable!  I can’t wait to see what kind it turns out to be, and what other types come up around it!

Also sprouting today: My Irises.

You can just see them starting to peek out from under last year’s growth.  This year should be the year they bloom, so I’m especially excited to see them coming up.  I received these bulbs from another gardener three years ago now.  They told me that after the bulbs are transplanted they will “rest” for a season before blooming.  2009 was the year of the transplant, 2010 was the year of rest, so 2011 should be the year of the grape scented blossoms!

Have you seen any sprouts, blooms, or blossoms yet this spring?

Posted in: Gardening