The Garden: Day 1

Posted on April 8, 2011

2


Last week I finally picked up my seed starting supplies.  Yesterday I actually started them.  Well, most of them anyway.  The herbs, greens, and most of the flowers will have to wait until it’s bit warmer and I can plant them outside.

Anyway, this is what went into the ground on Thursday:

  • 4 Cantaloupes
  • 4 Sweet Peas
  • 2 Hot Thai Peppers
  • 3 Red Sunflowers
  • 4 Cosmonaut Volkov Tomatoes
  • 4 Brandywine Tomatoes
  • 4 Purple Cherokee Tomatoes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So far I like this new sprouting kit.  The growing medium is actually coconut fiber, which has a pleasant crumbly feel even when wet.  The pellets sucked up the water very quickly, within 30 seconds.  I made the little labels myself from part of the packaging since the enclosed wooden labels are much to large.  I think they are intended for use after transplanting.  I don’t know how well my handmade labels will stand up, but it’s ok, I can always just look at the pictures if I forget which variety is where.  I’m not sure how I feel about the “germination sheet”.  It’s biodegradable, which is nice, but it’s to small to drape over the edges with the labels in the planting cells.  I may end up setting the entire tray inside of my old starting greenhouse.

Either way my seeds are in the ground.  I started twice as many plants as I need, so if everything germinates I will have some extras.  These will either go into a raised bed, or get donated to plant loving friends.  Once things warm up I will also be planting spinach, spring mix, catnip, basil, mint, chives, marigolds and nasturtiums.

Still on my gardening to do list:

  • Make 4 more self watering containers.
  • Pick up potting soil and peat moss or compost.
  • Make a new bed next to front door.
  • Put in hidden raised bed.  (Time and finances permitting.)

If all goes well I should have a bevy of pretty little sprouts to show you in the next few weeks.

Posted in: Gardening