Making My Bed

Posted on April 11, 2011

2


I’m still feeling a bit under the weather, but Sunday’s amazing warmth was just too good an opportunity to pass up.  I’ve been wanting to put in a flower bed next to my front door and the unexpected sunshine was the perfect excuse.  There is, well was, a funny gap at the corner of the building before the sidewalk started.  Like this:

Those are my work gloves and trowel in the top left corner.  The ground was damp from the rain and melting we’ve had lately, so it was pretty easy to work.  I used the trowel to cut the sod in a rectangle the same width as the space between the sidewalk and the corner of the building.  That was the easy part.  Next I had to lever the sod up and tear it out while carefully avoiding the dozens of earthworms and pill bugs living in the topsoil.  (It’s much harder to tear out the sod than it is to cut it.)

Once the space was clear I loosened up the soil and added a layer of last year’s leftover potting mix to help kill off any grass seed that may have been in the top soil.  Then my neighbor and I scouted around and found a few interesting rocks for some decorative edging.  This is the result:

There you have it- a lovely new flower bed and no more awkwardly wasted space.  A few more days of warmth and moisture and I’ll even be able to plant some flowers in it!

Posted in: Gardening