Damping Off

Posted on April 23, 2011

0


I’m sure all of you gardeners out there have heard of damping off.  It’s when your adorable little seedling come up nice and strong, and then suddenly take sick and keel over as the base of their stems is attacked by mold.

I’ve dealt with damping off before, I know how to handle it.  This was different.  Mold grew over the top, bottom, and sides of my starter kit.  I took off the plastic cover because it was holding moisture to the surface and scooped off as much mold as I could.  I’ve got a couple of tomatoes and a couple of peas.  That’s it.  I don’t think I’ll be buying this type of starter kit again.  I did buy two though, so replanting is on tomorrow’s to-do list.  This time though I’m going to try putting the whole thing inside of my old “greenhouse” instead of using the supplied cover.

I’ll have pictures of the moldy fiasco for you in the next couple of days.

On a more positive note, I should also have pictures of something wonderful and cute.  My second baby cactus!  It’s got three little spines, and is just as adorable as the first one.

Posted in: Gardening