Green from the ground up.

Posted on May 9, 2011

0


This is a bit of a take off from my usual food and garden related posts, but I just had to share it.  I was watching a show called (Hooray for streaming Netflix!) and working on some gardening projects (more on that later) when I came to an episode about Chicago.

It turns out that any new building constructed by the city has to be LEED certified.  Think about how huge that is for a second.  Chicago is the third largest city in the United States.  Nearly 3 million people live there.  And they are all living in an urban environment that aspires to be truly sustainable.  Here, check out the Green Chicago section on the City’s official website.

Maybe you already knew about this.  Maybe I’m way behind on things, not having been to Chicago since 2002, but I wanted to share it, just in case.

Photo by Wikimedia user J. Crocker.

Sometimes you just need to be optimistic about something.

