Making Progress

Posted on May 20, 2011

1


The last couple days have been busy ones in the world of apartment gardening.  My seedlings have begun to demand larger accommodations, so the first order of business was making their bucket shaped beds.  Well, that, and getting my balcony under control.

See what I mean?  Half full pots and dead plants had completely taken over!  Before I could do anything else I had to pull up all the dead plants, and get the remaining root ball out of each pot.  Next I combined the used soil with a new bag of Happy Frog potting mix, peat moss, and perlite.

Then things got interesting.  I filled half the pots, took a shower, and left to go to a Fitness Inspired session.  Afterwords I stopped by the Co-op to get a drink, ran another quick errand, and went home.  Shortly after arriving there I noticed my wedding ring was missing.  (I would show you a picture of that too, but it’s missing.)  I contacted each of the places I’d visited- no luck.  So then I thought, maybe I lost it while I was gardening.   So my husband and I sifted back through all the soil that had been put into pots (about 35 gallons)- no luck.  At this point it was time for bed.

The next morning I got up and sifted through the rest of the soil (another 35 gallons) and filled the other half of the pots- still no luck.  At this point I just don’t know where else to look.  In order to keep my spirits up I kept on gardening.  All the buckets got filled, my balcony got cleaned up, and the little terra cotta pots got planted.  The next few weeks should see the glorious sprouting of basil, lime basil, mint, catnip, and chives.

Phase one completed.  I still felt a need for more garden therapy though, so I moved on to the flower beds out in front.  I planted nasturtiums and a random flower seed blend (it was a gift so have no idea what was in it) in the narrow bed I posted about a few weeks ago, but it still just looks like dirt, so you don’t get a picture.  Then I decided to give my, so far non-blooming, irises a few neighbors.  I also planted cosmos in the same bed, but they won’t be up for a few weeks yet.

Here are a few bonus pictures for you.  Number one is an image of the very first spouts to come up in the pool garden.  Accomplice numbers two’s blue dwarf kale.  Number two is a cactus garden with not one, not two, not three, but seven sprouted cacti!

Do you have any green in your garden yet?  I’d love to hear about it!

Posted in: Gardening