Chilling Out

Posted on May 27, 2011

2


It’s been pretty chilly out the last few days.  With gray rainy weather and overnight temperatures as low as 44 degrees Fahrenheit, there hasn’t been much action on the garden front.  I’ve been a little nervous for my plants, but so far they seem to be handling the weather well.  My Irises are even putting out blooms for the very first time!  Still, the cool weather means slow going on the garden front, so I haven’t got much to show you.

The season’s first CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share should be ready any time now, and then I’ll have plenty of fresh produce to experiment with.  That means wonderful new recipes for me to share.

In the meantime though, I’m just waiting.  Waiting for the plants, waiting for sunshine, waiting for my CSA, and waiting for the Farmer’s Market.  I hope you don’t mind waiting with me.

I do have one fresh development for you in the meantime.  Accomplice one’s beans, which were barely breaking the surface when last I ventured out to the pool garden, are growing like crazy.  Hopefully once things warm up, the rest of the garden will follow suit.

Posted in: Gardening