HongKong22

Posted on June 15, 2011

0


Earlier today I was having a discussion with a friend of mine about ice cream.  He asked if I had ever tried the ice cream from Thomas Organic Creamery.  I said yes, and told him about my Peaches and Ice Cream post.  I did a quick google for “The Ethitarian” so I could show him the pictures.  To my (pleasant) surprise, that post was actually second in the results.  Then, out of curiosity, I scrolled down a little further.

It turns out that other people are linking to my posts.  Cool right?  Well, sort of.  Most of the other results seem to be for sites linking to articles or recipes.  That’s great, because it helps other people find this blog.  The people who are posting links aren’t taking credit for my work, they aren’t plagiarizing, and they are driving traffic to my site.

Then there’s this: HONGKONG22-News

Here’s the problem, I can’t read Chinese.  Honestly, I can’t even be sure if it is Chinese, but it’s one of the two official languages in Hong Kong (the other is English), so it seems like a reasonable guess.  Either way, they seem to be copying my posts in their entirety and re-posting them to their blog.  The name of the blog does appear at the top of the page, but there is no link.  Since I can’t read anything on the page but my own post I can’t figure out how to leave a comment in order to ask them what they are doing. (If you can read Chinese please speak up in the comments!)

This post is my attempt to find out what’s going on.  If the site is simply set up to auto post anything I write, this post should show up there too.  In that case, for the curious in Hong Kong, here is the link to my actual blog: https://theethitarian.wordpress.com

If they are purposefully copying specific posts, they (whoever runs HONGKONG22-News) will hopefully read this one and start crediting me or providing links back to my blog.  Either way, this is really the only way I can think of to reach them.

Have any of you had this happen?  Where did you work show up?  What did you do about it?  What do you suggest I do about it?

No matter what happens, I have to admit, I enjoy the idea that someone in Hong Kong might be reading my blog right now.

Posted in: Uncategorized