Gardens Galore

Posted on July 9, 2011

0


I’ve been away from the computer again, and the garden as well.  Thankfully, my self watering containers don’t require much care, so I returned to find everything thriving.  I was even able to make my first harvest from the porch garden.

It wasn't a big harvest, but it was really delicious. The greens were fresh and flavorful, and the peas were probably the sweetest I've ever tasted.

The pool gardens are also doing quite well.  I’m very happy with my fluffy soil blend, the peat seems to be keeping the moisture balance just right, despite the alternating heavy rain and intense heat.

You can't really tell from this picture, (it was getting dark when I went out to the garden) but Accomplice 1's beans are starting to blossom beautifully.

Accomplice 2 has a very respectable second growth of kale.

My kale and spinach have gotten really large, I'll have to harvest again soon.

The flower beds by the front door are also doing quite well, despite the fact that none of the wildflower blends sprouted.  I think next year I’ll stick with nasturtiums.

Irises have nearly taken over this bed, but there are a few hardy cosmos around the edges. (And if you know what the pointy colorful ones are, please tell me!)

The nasturtiums have begun to bloom, and my neighbor was nice enough to put up a decorative little fence to protect them from dogs.

 

 

Posted in: Gardening