Amaranth Salad

Posted on July 19, 2011

0


Amaranth is another grain I’ve been meaning to experiment with for a while.  It’s tiny compared to most of the grains I use, and it comes from really fabulous flowers.  (They look like giant magenta hands making rude gestures…)  One thing that really did catch me off guard was the smell while it cooked- it was almost exactly like sweetcorn.

  • 1 cup amaranth
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cube rapunzel bouillon
  • 1 medium cucumber, washed, de-seeded
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped green onion
  • 4 Tbsp fresh pesto
  • About 6 cups mixed greens

Pour cool water over amaranth and let soak for ten minutes while you bring 2 1/2 cups water to a boil and dissolve the bouillon cube.  Drain amaranth and add to boiling water.  Turn down to a simmer.  Let cook uncovered until most of the water is absorbed.  (About 35 minutes.)  Wash your cucumber and remove the seeds, leaving the skin on.  Chop into small pieces.  Chop green onions very fine.  Rinse greens well, and set aside to drain.  When amaranth is done cooking, cool to room temperature, combine with all other ingredients.  Serve.

A few notes: I followed standard cooking directions for the amaranth, it ended up too wet for me.  When I make this again, I will reduce the water to 1 1/2 cups and only add more if I need it.  I’ll also use 1/2 of a bouillon cube, as the finished grain was just a bit saltier than I like.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

