Crunchy Tasty Zucchini Chips

Posted on August 4, 2011

8


I. Have. So. Much. Zucchini.

If you have a garden, know someone with a garden, or receive a weekly CSA, I think you know what I’m talking about. We’ve reached that point in the year where zucchini production simply outstrips any reasonable attempts at consumption. It’s time to get creative.

You’ll need a few kitchen gadgets for this one, specifically, a mandolin and a food dehydrator.

I may not have mentioned how much I love my dehydrator before, but I’m mentioning it now.  It’s the only way I know of to fit an entire flat of beautiful peak season strawberries into one jar.  It’s also a great way to deal with summer abundance.  I keep a glass one gallon jar on the counter top by my stove.  When I can’t finish something before it goes bad,  it gets sliced up, run through the dehydrator, and into the jar it goes.  All winter I can reach into the jar, grab a handful of dehydrated veggies, and instantly add flavor and nutrition to soups, rice, casseroles, anything really.  It’s incredibly convenient.

These chips are beyond convenient though.  They are everything the perfect snack should be, healthy, easy, delicious, and virtually fat free.

Just use the mandolin to cut about one pound of zucchini or yellow squash into thin rounds.  Toss the rounds with 1 Tbsp of lemon juice, 1 Tbsp olive oil, and one seasoning packet (about 3 Tbsp if you prefer to mix your own).  I used french onion soup mix for this batch, but ranch dressing mix and taco seasoning also work very well.  When all the pieces are well coated, lay them in a single layer on dehydrator trays, turn it on, and walk away for 8-12 hours.  When the chips are completely dry and crunchy they are done.  Good luck making the first batch last until the second one is ready!

Slice the zucchinis.

 

Add the seasonings and toss.

 

Lay them out in a single layer.

 

Dig in.

