A guest post and lovely cabbage recipe.

Posted on August 13, 2011

0


I’m not the only experiencing a surfeit of CSA veggies right now, and one of my CSA buddies, Accomplice number One, was nice enough to share this tasty cabbage recipe with all of us who have too much cabbage!  Here it is:
i
I HATE cabbage. That said, I’ve gotten several heads of the stuff in my weekly CSA share & felt it would be morally reprehensible to just let it rot. So, what to do?  Reinvent the wheel! If cabbage was nearly inedible swill, maybe it wasn’t the food’s fault but rather the way its been prepared for me in the past.
i
To give you an idea of why I loath cabbage so much here is what my mother & grandmother used to do to make stuffed cabbage:
Make plain white minute rice. Wrap it in a cabbage leaf, place it in a casserole dish & cover it in an entire 32 oz jar of tomato juice. (Not sauce, just juice.) Cook until everything was wilted & nasty. Serve.  Pleh! Several of my family members swear this is their favorite homemade dish but I can’t stomach it.  So here is my redo!
i
Jambalaya Stuffed Cabbage
i
To make the homemade “jambalaya” I sauted garlic, onions and 3 small hot peppers until the onion was translucent while I put a pot on to boil for brown rice. Then I added in an entire link of smoked sausage sliced into 1/4″ coins. Once there was a bit of a sear on the sausage I added approximately 1/2 cup of chicken broth and 1/4 cup of paprika. I let this simmer on low until the rice was fully cooked, then blended everything together.
i
You could stop right there! That was Delicious! And there was plenty to make a meal. However, that wouldn’t help you use up that poor head of cabbage now would it?  So! Take that cabbage in hand & chop off the stem. Then CAREFULLY remove each leaf, trying to keep it intact as much as possible. My cabbage produced 12 leaves large enough to stuff up. Which is really a pretty easy process – just cup the leaf in one hand & fill with jambalaya! The trick is to restrain yourself from over stuffing the leaf.  With all of the stuffed leaves in the casserole dish I topped them with the rest of the jambalaya (I made a lot in case the cabbage didn’t turn out any better then before!)
i
I cooked everything uncovered for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. The cabbage was cooked thru but not disintegrating and had a nice mild flavor, the jambalaya was hot and spicy but not enough to make my eyes water & the sausage brought it all together with some smokey, salty meatiness! Overall I loved this new cabbage dish.
i
Thanks for the opportunity to share this with you!
Co-Conspirator #1
P.S. If you don’t like pork sausage then look for smoked sausage made with turkey. It is one of the best “turkey in pigs clothing” products on the market!
i

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted in: Cooking, Ingredients