Rising to the Occasion

Posted on January 9, 2012

3


It’s been a busy few weeks.  Between work, family, friends, and travel, I just haven’t had the time or energy to post.  Things are slowly starting to get back to normal.  It doesn’t really mean that life is any less busy, but a regular routine makes sneaking in a little blogging much easier.  Appropriately enough, my first post-holiday post is about a time-saving way to do something that typically takes forever: baking bread.

A few weeks ago I picked up Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg, M.D., and Zoe Francois.  Tonight I finally got around to throwing everything together and making my first batch of dough.  There are only five ingredients – whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, yeast, sea salt, vital wheat gluten – plus water, in the basic recipe.  You mix up a batch of dough, let it rise for a few hours while you do something else, and then put the whole thing in the fridge.  Each batch will keep for about two weeks.  When it’s time to bake just tear off a piece of the ready-made dough and go to town.  You don’t have to knead, punch the dough down, or tip-toe about gingerly in order to preserve the delicate bread bubbles.

I’ve made rolls, quick breads, soda bread, tortillas, and flatbread, but I’ve never made my own sandwich bread.  My dough is currently resting in the refrigerator.  Tomorrow night I plan on making my very first loaf.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted in: Cookbooks, Cooking