Seed Catalogs

Posted on February 18, 2012

4


I love seed catalogs.  I loved them when I was a kid and my parents got to do all the ordering, and I love them even more now that I get to pick everything out myself.  In years past I have simply chosen from whichever organic seed company happened to have a distributer in my area.  This led me to High Mowing Seeds and Nature’s Crossroads.  Both performed beautifully and I was very happy with the plants that resulted.  This year however, I wanted to branch out into more (and more unusual) varieties.  To that end I began researching seed companies and requesting catalogs.  I sent in probably eight requests between November and January.  Four catalogs have arrived so far.  They are as follows: Seed Saver’s Exchange, Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds, Sand Hill Preservation Center, and High Mowing Organic Seeds (mentioned above).

On Sunday afternoon I will be getting together with some friends and accomplices to do some garden planning and decide which seeds to order.  It’s difficult to describe how excited I am about this.  I can almost see the little sprouts and feel the warm dirt already.  Once the planning is done I should have some diagrams and planting lists for you.  In the meantime I’m looking for some 11th hour suggestions.  Do you have any favorite seeds catalogs or suppliers?  And, as a bonus question, what is you favorite weird fruit, vegetable, or flower?  If it’s enticing enough I just might plant some myself!

 

Hello, my name is Buckminster and I would like to help you with your garden.

Posted in: Gardening