Monday

Posted on February 28, 2012

2


Today was a busy and exciting day in the realm of food and gardening.  Tonight, after work and a quick stop at the gym, my husband and I enjoyed a very tasty homemade dinner.  We had raw vegetable soup and grilled cheese sandwiches on homemade whole wheat bread.  I don’t know what it is about raw soups, but I always feel good after eating them.  When dinner was over I sat down and ordered all the seeds for myself and the fabulous gardening Accomplices.  (Combing our orders saves on shipping.)

We ended up choosing seeds from three different companies.  (Expect a list and some lovely illustrations in the near future.)  Sadly, one variety that I wanted from each of the companies was out of stock.  It looks like I won’t be growing Rosalind (purple) Broccoli, Chinese Red Noodle Beans, or Job’s Tears (flowers) this year.  Luckily everything else was in stock, so our gardens ought to be pretty cool anyway.  I guess I’ll just fill in the gaps with some of the other delicious and beautiful varieties on my list.

While ordering the seeds I also did a bit of multi-tasking and made a batch of chocolate chip cookies.  These weren’t just any chocolate chip cookies though.  I made them with fresh handmade butter from a homemade mix gifted to me by my friends over at notsotoughcookies.  The house smells great right now.  It’s time to go to bed, but it’s been a good day for food and gardening.  I’m hoping it will be a good night for them too.  After all, how can you not have sweet dreams in a house that smells like chocolate chip cookies?

Just look at all that potential...

