Let’s Get This Garden Started (Part 1)

Posted on March 15, 2012

5


This week the 2012 garden season began for me in earnest.  I’m going to tell you about it in a backwards sort of way.  On Sunday I got together with Accomplice 1, Accomplice 2a, Accomplice 3, and a couple of other friends to make pots for seed starting.  (Yeah, we’re expanding this year.)  Instead of starting with Sunday though, I’m going to tell you about Wednesday first.

On Wednesday the stars aligned and everything was perfect.  The weather hit 70 in March.  Accomplice 1 and I both had the day off.  Accomplice 2a had awesome shears for us to borrow, and the guy from Michigan Wonder Worm called us back.  As if all that wasn’t enough, there was a fabulous surprise.

The first project of the day was cutting back the giant shrub in my flower bed.  Accomplice 1 did most of the actual pruning, and I concentrated on cutting out the landscaping fabric which lies beneath the mounds of red mulch in my apartment complex.  Removing the fabric was much harder than I expected.  It had about 10 years worth of decomposed mulch on top of it, and roots the thickness of human pinkies growing under, over, and through it.  Despite that, all the effort was completely worth it.  Here, see for yourself:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did I mention an awesome surprise?  Yes, I think I did.  Now, for those of you who haven’t been reading for very long, you’ll need a little back story.  Last year in May I lost my wedding ring.  You can read about it here.  It disappeared while I was gardening, we eventually gave up looking for it and I replaced it.  Today, as I was gloving up in preparation for Operation Flower Bed, I found my ring.  It was stuck in the finger of my garden glove.  I don’t know how I missed it last year, I must have checked those gloves half a dozen times.  Not to be girly about it, but there was some jumping and squealing involved.

Following a brief hiatus for gardening related errands, Accomplice 1 and I headed off in search of worm castings.  My future tomatoes are sure to be pleased.

Posted in: Gardening