Lesson Learned

Posted on May 19, 2012

0


It’s only May and I’ve already learned a valuable gardening related lesson.  Straw makes a lovely mulch in Fall and Winter, but in Spring, it sprouts.  This meant a great deal of additional weeding.  Here, let me show you what I mean.

Thursday, Pool Garden, before weeding.

Thursday, Pool Garden, after weeding.

I planted kale and broccoli raab in the pool garden, but guess what came up instead…  Spinach.  That’s fine, I planted it there last year, so I do know where it originated, but it does mean that I need to replant a few things.

Friday, Community Garden, before weeding.

Friday, Community Garden, after weeding.

You can’t really tell from these pictures, but a fair number of my carrots did germinate.  The sprouts are just very small.  And, though it may not look it, I have way fewer weeds than many of the neighboring plots.  Still, next year I’ll be looking for a new mulching material.  It needs to be fairly cheap, sustainable, able to keep in warmth and moisture without suffocating my seedlings, and it can’t add to the amount of weeding I need to do.  Any suggestions?

(On a side note, there was an astonishing array of spiders living in this one 4′ by 4′ space.)

Posted in: Gardening