Loving Leftovers: Taco Stew

Posted on June 6, 2012

0


I don’t eat a lot of meat, so when I do, I don’t like to waste it.  My attempt (successful I think) at making authentic shredded beef tacos left me with a pot full of thick beef cooking liquid, and I just couldn’t toss anything with that much delicious flavor.  I had some toppings and tortillas left, so it just made sense to use them all in the same dish.  There were also a few roasted veggies, which had been a side dish, and those got thrown into the mix too.

Ingredients

  • Leftover taco juices
  • 1/2 cup leftover roasted veggies (up to 1 cup would be fine)
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen corn
  • 4 corn tortillas, cut into strips
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • plain yogurt, shredded cheese, and cilantro, to garnish

Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan with 2 cups hot water.  Bring up to a simmer.  Cover.  Cook until onions are soft, stirring occasionally.  Scoop into individual bowls and garnish.  Enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted in: Cooking, Recipes