Dinner at Pacific Rim

Posted on June 28, 2012

1


When we go on vacation we always go out for one really special dinner.  This year we decided to go to Pacific Rim in downtown Ann Arbor, MI.  We’d never been there before, and weren’t sure exactly what to expect, but the menu looked good so we decided to give a shot.

The food was incredible.  In fact, it was one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten.  Just look at it.

I ordered a Japanese Mojito, and my husband had a Ginger Beer. I’ve never had a Mojito like it.                                                It was so refreshing – just yum.

To start we had an appetizer of lemongrass beef in spicy peanut sauce. It was cooked perfectly. Split between two people it was just enough to whet our appetites.

The salad was very flavorful, with a good mix of different greens, and just enough dressing to flavor without overpowering.

I chose the miso teriyaki salmon. The fish was sashimi grade, and it was cooked beautifully. The texture was soft and creamy, and the teriyaki sauce lent it just a touch of sweetness. The accompanying rice and veggies were wonderful too.

My husband ordered tuna with a ginger-miso sauce. The green around the edges was a wasabi oil, spicy enough to add zip, but mellow enough to enhance the flavors rather than cover them. It was almost too pretty to eat.

Since this was a special occasion, I decided to go for the warm chocolate cake for dessert. You have to order it when your entree arrives because it takes 20 minutes to bake. It came with toasted coconut ice cream and sake-macerated cherries. Need I say more?

My husband had a caramelized banana crepe. It looked pretty tasty, but I was very focused on my cake.

Everything was wonderful.  I have no complaints about the food, the service, or the decor.  The waitress was very helpful, answering all of our questions about the menu, and always there when we needed something without hovering at our shoulders.  Even the bathroom was nice.  If you find that sort of thing interesting, here’s a picture of the sink.  It was cool.

