Sometimes There Is No Recipe

Posted on September 10, 2012

0


When my fridge is full of vegetables and my stomach is grumbling I haven’t got time to follow a recipe.  I haven’t even got time to write it down as I make it up.  This was one of those times.  I had broccoli, cucumbers, tomatoes, and fresh basil in the fridge.  Hmm, I said to myself, no protein…   A can of Northern beans in the cupboard?  Perfect.  The broccoli went into the steamer basket, and I chopped everything else into manageable chunks.  I rinsed the beans (it helps lower the sodium levels), and threw everything together in a big mixing bowl with some good olive oil and raspberry balsamic vinegar.*  Add salt and pepper to taste, and serve.  Delicious.

No recipe, no problem.

Almost no cooking, really filling, and tasty when served cold.  I dub this meal a success.  Sometimes you just have to trust your instincts.

*When combining oil and vinegar use 2 parts oil to 1 part vinegar.  It’s a good balance of flavors and will work in most dishes.  

Posted in: Cooking, Recipes