Peanut Butter Jelly Time

Posted on March 25, 2013

2


I came up with an interesting recipe today and I thought it might be worth sharing: Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothies.  Sounds weird right?  I kind of thought so when I came up with the idea, but being the kind of person I am, I went ahead and made them anyway.  They were really tasty and super filling.  Yay experimental cooking!  One batch will make two large meal-sized smoothies, or four serve-it-with-breakfast smoothies.

All the deliciousness has been assembled!

All the deliciousness has been assembled!

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 bananas
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • 3 Tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • 3 Tbsp hemp seeds
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups frozen strawberries

Combine all ingredients in a blender.  You will get better results if you pour in the coconut water and toss in the bananas before you add the dry or frozen items.  You are less likely to end up with something binding to the blades, which can prevent you from ending with a smooth end product.  Put the lid on before you do anythings else.  It might seem like a silly thing to mention, but we all make mistakes, and some of them result in washing yogurt off the ceiling.  If your blender has an ice chopping setting pulse it a few times to break up the strawberries.  If not, just start on low.  Once the major chunks are gone blend on the setting(s) of your choice until everything is smooth.  Pour and enjoy.  (I especially enjoy my smoothies with a nice slice of toast, but I would never presume to dictate the constituents of a proper breakfast.)

So many smoothies - wait - just the right amount of smoothies!

So many smoothies – wait – just the right amount of smoothies!

Posted in: Cooking, Recipes